Salone del Mobile Milano Shanghai

HIGHLIGHTS

Rick Owens: Furniture

Rick Owens, one of the greatest contemporary designers, describes how he became involved with interior design and how his furnishing collections come into being in a book designed to shed a very intimate and personal light on his creative spirit. 

The best definition of his subversive style comes from Owens himself, with his famous expression “grunge meets glamour” which is also true of his furnishings: Gothic approach, bold mixtures of textures and materials as well as references – more and less obvious – to modernism and Brutalist architecture. 

It was but a short step from a passion for design to a fully finished and marketed range of furniture. Owens began designing furniture for pure pleasure in 2006, slowly filling his home and headquarters at Palais Bourbon with pieces destined to become iconic. His first proper collection was presented the following year (2007). 

Rick Owens: Furniture is an exhaustive overview of Owens’ work, from his Antler Chair to his petrified bark tables, from his seats to his bedroom furnishings, but the most fascinating part is without doubt the hitherto unseen images of materials, the manufacturing processes and all the “behind the scenes” activities that culminated in the collections signed by Owens and Michele Lamy, his wife, muse and extremely close collaborator. 

Rick Owens, Rick Owens: Furniture, Rizzoli USA 2017

segnali_Owens_Forniture_990_02.jpg
segnali_Owens_Forniture_990_01.jpg

设计亮点

《Rick Owens: Furniture》

Rick Owens是当代最伟大的设计师之一,他描述了他是如何开始室内设计的,以及他的家具设计是如何融入到一本书中来的。这本书旨在为他的创作精神提供一种亲密的、个性化的领悟。

对他颠覆性风格的最佳定义来自于Owens本人以及他的著名表达“颓废文化与魅力相遇”,这也同样适用于他的家具创作:哥特式的风格、纹理和材料的大胆混合、以及对现代主义和野兽派建筑的引用(或多或少是明显的)。

从对设计的热情到完全成品再到在市场上出售的家具,只是很小的一步。2006年开始,Owens单纯为了乐趣设计家具。慢慢地他自己的家和设在波旁宫殿的总部充满了这些注定要成为标志性家具的物件。他的第一个正派家具系列是在第二年(2007年)呈现的。

从他的鹿角椅子到他的石化皮桌、从他的座椅到他的卧室家具,Rick Owens: Furniture是对Owens工作的详尽概述。但最吸引人的部分毫无疑问是至今未见过的图片材料、生产过程和所有的“幕后”活动。这些最终都展现到由Owens和他的妻子Michele Lamy(一位默默无闻且极其密切的合作伙伴)签名的家具作品上。

Rick Owens,Rick Owens: Furniture,美国Rizzoli 2017年

  • segnali_Owens_Forniture_990_02.jpg
  • segnali_Owens_Forniture_990_01.jpg